Just over a month ago I quit my job. Here were some of my thoughts on my final day:

Sometimes we have to do hard things, that’s all part of being an adult. It can be especially tough when it comes to following your heart, and your career. So on April 2nd I decided I was going to quit my job of 2 ½ years.

Flashback to October 17, 2013: It was my first day of work. I had only applied because I wanted to live with my friends and needed to be able to pay rent. The job was only suppose to be temporary.

Now it’s May 26, 2017 and I just finished my last day of work. The decision to follow my heart was not easy, but it needed to be done. What made this decision hard was the fact that I enjoyed the people I worked with. But things change, (and let’s get real nobody likes working in retail) and the company was changing. It wasn’t the company I had fallen in love with.

As I lay in my bed at the end of my last workday, I don’t really have any emotions about it all being over. It feels a little weird, but nothing about it feels wrong. I know I made the right decision.

It’s been over a month and I still have #NoRegrets. If anything I’m healthier for doing it, both mentally and physically. Good-bye stress, hello regular periods again!!

The truth is my job had become my security blanket. I was so invested in the job, and it stressed me out. Staying in a that high stress environment and reaping no benefits was not a place I wanted to be in. Plus staying in a job that I no longer liked would have been the easy way out, but it would have killed me. The last thing I needed was to become a jaded 25 year old just because I didn’t do what I knew in my heart I needed to do. Retail isn’t my passion… but is it anyone’s passion?

I want to work in the film industry, I want to help make magic happen! How would I know that I actually want to do it for the rest of my life unless I try?

Going out into the big bad world… I’m scared shitless. Is this what being an adult feels like?

xo Tiana

One thought on “

  1. Pingback: Threescoops

Leave a Reply

