The Pussycat Dolls 

I’m one of those unfortunate souls that did not have had the opportunity to experience the Spice girls at their peak, but I am glad I had PCD Also know as The Pussycat Dolls. I’m not saying that The Pussycat Dolls are as iconic as the Spice girls, but they were my favorite girl group in my early teens. Here is a list of my favorite songs by them.

Are you ready?

Lets dance

#3. Don’t Cha ft. Busta Rhyme

Don’t Cha is not my top song, but it’s the first song my FOB self heard by the Pussycat Dolls. I came to Canada in April of 2005, this song was released on April 26 2005. So I take this as a welcome present to me.  *Also I can’t believe that was over 10 YEARS AGO, HOW* This song introduced me to PCD back in the day on MuchMoreMusic. It’s was their first big single, therefor it has to be the first song I talked about.

 #1. Buttons ft. Snoop Dogg

The Buttons video is my absolutely favorite. From the all black sexy clothing, to the break down dancing with smoke coming out their fingers, and sexy cat walks. I desperately wanted to be Nicole. She looked amazing: her hair, the glow she had . Thanks to this song and Snoop Dogg  we got to learn the names of the other girls besides Nicole schedfausdhfshdf *how do you say her last name?*. The girls are Ashley, Carmit, Jessica, Kimberly, Melody. Also Melody (#blackgirl) gets a solo. To this day whenever there is barrer or clothing rack I find myself singing hehehehehe and pretended I am Nicole.

#2 .I Hate This Part

I Hate This Part is one of PCD’s sadder songs . I really enjoy this song , it has potentiality for a great karaoke song. Also nothing say heart break like wearing next to nothing and dancing  in the desert with your best friends .  The reason I think this will make a great karaoke song is because of my favorite verse

I know you’ll ask me to hold on
And carry on like nothing is wrong
But there is no more time for lies
Cause I see sun set in your eyes

#4. Beep

This song is full of female empowerment if you ask me. They don’t care if you at their a.. because their confident independent woman. I love the break down dance. Also I defiantly  wore my sweatpants like Nicole’s hiked up at the knees and rolled down at the hips. My favorite part was

I don’t give a…
Keep looking at my…
‘Cause it don’t mean a thing if you’re looking at my…
I’m a do my thing while you’re playing with your…
Ha, ha, ha, ha, ha, ha, ha, ha

#5.Whatcha Think About That

One of my favorite songs ; This song is very and very under rated plus Missy Elliot is in. So that’s a plus .And the black girl gets to sing alone at one point. Such a good getting ready song.

So if your dude ain’t acting right
You tell that dude (he got to go)
If that dude be claiming that he broke
You tell that dude (he got to go)
If he wants you to stay in the house everyday and night
You tell that dude (he got to go)
If he wants to run the streets, then you run the streets, too
And you tell him (he got to go)

#6. Stickwitu ft. Avant

This song is so beautiful , the harmony is so good. My favorite part was
So don’t you worry about
People hanging around,
They ain’t bringing us down.
I know you and you know me
And that’s all that counts.
So don’t you worry about
People hanging around,
They ain’t bringing us down.
I know you and you know me
And that’s why I say

#7.  Jai Ho (You Are My Destiny)- A.R. Rahman, The Pussycat Dolls

I wasn’t feeling this song when it came out but  when I heard Nicole’s solo when she sings “hmm yeah hmm yeah”. I was hooked

#8. Lie About Us

Such a great song, to bad  its about cheater. My friend wanted this as their wedding song until they realized it was about cheating. Best YouTube comment “Nicest way to ask a woman to be a side chick…”

So please don’t say you wanna give up.
How do I tell her that I’m fallen in love,
And I know your waiting patiently for that day,
When we no longer have to lie about us.
When I’m with her all I want is your touch,
And when you call me I don’t wanna hang up,
And I know I say it often but I can’t wait
Till’ we no longer have to lie about us.

#9 .Whatever U Like ft. T.I.

Nicole’s first hit after PCD . I had forgot about this song , until my sister send it to me. Btw Black is definitely Nicole’s color ,how does one looks so good in it. Also how many times does she work out!? Is It me or does she have the most flawless glow .Whoever does her makeup is on point really knows how to highlight.

#10. Like Me

So after PCD broke up the founders want to recreate the group. There was a reality TV show on CW where girls compete to be the next girl group. At the time I was upset with the choices they made with girls , and I would not listen to Girlicious then one day I listened and this song was just straight fire. Also you should listen to Already gone  its so good . To bad the group had some issues but they definitely had potential.

Everything She Do Is Like Me (Ay) From Her Head To Her Feet Like Me (Ay)
She Trynna Talk Like Me
Trynna Walk Like Me Trynna Get All The Boys In The Club Like Me
Everything She Be Is Like Me (Ay)
Trynna Imitate Me (Ay) She Trynna Move Like Me
Trynna Act Like Me Trynna
Get On The Floor And Shake Her Ass Like Me

Leave a Reply

