That Time I Watch Labyrinth and Cried

Watching Labyrinth for the first time since David Bowie passed away was way more emotional for me then I expected. The movie had hardly even begun before I started crying.

Labyrinth has grown to be one of my favourite movies, but it wasn’t always that way. To be honest I don’t think I liked the movie the first time my sister had shown it to me. I didn’t even know who David Bowie was, or who Jim Henson was… or his love of all things puppets. The movie was a big WTF moment for me, I wasn’t sure what I had just watched.

However, somewhere along the way within the last 16ish years, once I had become a fan of Ziggy, I really grew to appreciate the movie. And of course who doesn’t love a little “Babe with the Power” #classic!

Between the songs, the costumes, and David Bowie’s mullet that looks like it was cut by a blind Edward Scissorhands WHATS NOT TO LOVE!? Plus Jim Henson’s creepy yet crazy awesome puppets… Do I like them or am I still afraid of them? I’m not sure.

What I am sure of: I LOVE THIS MOVIE AND IT MAKES ME CRY BECAUSE I LOVE DAVID BOWIE!

PLUS those Pop Vinyls that are coming in September!

Sign me up! I want to make sure I snag me a Jareth figurine!

xo Tiana

Leave a Reply

