Podcasts: A Serious Addiction

Lately all I’ve been listening to are Podcasts! So I’ve made a small list of the podcast I like. You should indulge if you aren’t doing so already!

So get your ear holes ready cause, in no particular order, these are my favorite podcasts (So far):

1) Serial

This non-fictional podcast came out in 2014 and currently has 2 seasons. Each season is based on true, ongoing trials. Let me tell you, It didn’t take long for me to catch up, after the first episode I was hooked! As they say in the intro Serial is “One story, told week by week.” Season one is a about a murder that took place in 1999, a did-he-or-didn’t-he type. Season two is about a US solider who walked off his post in Afghanistan, and in turn was captured by the Taliban for 5 years!

Sarah Koeing, the narrator/Journalist, and her team dig deep to uncover aspects of the story that needs to be told. They tell as much of the story as they can, as up to date as they can.

2) Magic Lessons

In the search for inspiration I came across Magic Lessons, from Elizabeth Gilbert (Author of Eat, Pray, Love & Big Magic) in which she interviews women going through artistic slumps. This podcast is the product of her newest book (Big Magic) that I have yet to read. In the podcast Elizabeth Gilbert gives great advice for each interviewee, and also connects with her famous friends (other authors, comedians, speakers) who give advice on each subject and how to find inspiration.

The first episode really hit home for me, for some of the same creative roadblocks that were brought up in the podcast, but really each episode has great advice! I recommend having a notepad handy cause there will be times you want to take notes!

3) RobCast 

An inspirational podcast from Pastor Rob Bell. I first heard of Rob Bell back in 2005/2006 when he was doing his Nooma videos, but this podcast is a bit different. The great thing about this podcast is even though Rob Bell is a pastor, and each episode is kind of like a sermon, he isn’t throwing bible verses at you, he uses them when appropriate. After all, his truth is God, so of course he will speak about his faith. In my search to start a new journey with God, this podcast has really come at a great time.

Each episode is about one particular subject that he connects with life/faith, things that weigh heavy on many people. He is inspiring and encouraging.

I recommend starting with episode 5.

I also recommend a notebook for this podcast too.

4) Nerdist

Last but not least, NERDIST. The podcast that started it all (for me). I love this podcast. Remember when I said this list is in no particular order, well Nerdist Podcast is #1. Nerdist is hosted by the hilarious Chris Hardwick, and the occasional (and equally as hilarious) Matt Mira & Jonah Ray. IF YOU LOVE TO LAUGH THEN THIS IS THE PODCAST FOR YOU. Guests range from comedians, to actors, to scientists. You’ll laugh, you’ll learn, you might even cry.

This podcast also inspires me to want to create, while embracing my nerd-self. I love all things Nerdist!  But a word of caution: There are SO many episodes. I have tried to listen to them all, starting from the beginning, but not all were on the Podcast app. Maybe check the Nerdist website… check Nerdist anyway for other great nerdy things!

I could talk all day about Nerdist Industries (future post? probably!) There are so many cool things and everyone should check these cool things out: Because Science, Nerdist News (where I get all my nerdy news), The Dan Cave and sooooo much more. Including more podcasts.

So go! Check it all out!

Xo Tiana

Leave a Reply

