Career Day

To keep the unintentional (yet current) theme of my blogs post going a.k.a. What is Life? I was thinking about my education and the directions I wanted to go versus my passions/things I enjoy/things I would want to do as work. I never thought that having one of your hobbies as your job was even a possibility until later in life.

Before I even graduated high school, gr.10 maybe, I wanted to go to school for Child Care. The community college didn’t offer it at the time and traveling for school wasn’t an option so I push that idea aside. I definitely didn’t know what I wanted to do after high school was over. If you know what you want to do for the rest of your life as early on as high school than you are extremely lucky. After I graduated I took a 1-year Business Administration Program. Honestly I only did it cause my best friend was doing it, but NO REGRETS. About half way through the program I was looking at job opportunities for when I graduate. This was my grand scheme: Learn German, move to Germany, work in business in Germany. Spoiler Alert: I didn’t do it, but my parents fully supported me.

Near the end of the program I was haunted with the feelings of “I don’t want to do this forever” so I knew I had to think of something new. Around the same time my best friend told that she applied to university in Edmonton, and was waiting to hear back. So as I was searching the school, Grant MacEwan University, I stumbled across a program called Early Learning and Child Care. WHAT? This is exactly what I was thinking about only 4 years earlier! So I applied, I got in, and I moved with my best friend to Edmonton for 2 years.

At the end of the 1st year (it was a 2 year program) I was again thinking “I don’t want to do this for the rest of my life”. So I started thinking about things I like to do, and movies came up. I love watching movies, and I love learning about the makings of. So I googled what kind of careers are in film. It turns out A LOT! I kept googling, found a school, and the thought of being a film maker was planted.

I decided to finish the 2nd year of my Child Care program because I didn’t want to leave it unfinished. At the end of the program the opportunity to further my education to get a Bachelor’s of Youth and Child Care to become a Youth Councillor (which is something I would still consider) was tempting, but I moved home instead.

So I moved home, and applied to film school in Vancouver for the following year. So I worked and used my new child skills, and I waited.

So a year goes by and October 2012 rolls around, and I move to Vancouver. This time without my best friend, the most independent things I’ve ever done!

Fast forward to now, I’ve been graduated for 3 years this October (it was a 1-year intensive program) and I’m again struggling with what I want to do and how to break in to doing it.

I’ve thrown a few ideas around, this time regarding things I LOVE! I want to take Cognitive Development classes cause I love how the brain works and functions as you grow, I want to be a voice actor cause I love to do accents and I want to learn to do more, I would love to model cause I’m actually comfortable in front of the camera, for pictures. I love when my photography friends are like “Hey I have this Idea, want to do it for me?” YES ALWAYS, but as it turns out people aren’t looking for a 25 year old amateur model LOL! Lastly and probably the most doable: I want to be an underwater videographer FOR SHARKS! I can use my love of film with my love of the ocean!

So in short: Over the course of 5 years I’ve completed 3 programs, in 3 different schools, in 3 different cities. I’ve had 8 different career ideas ranging from business, to children, to film. Now I want to combine my love of sharks with my love of film. All I need is money…

I remember telling one of my younger cousins not to be afraid to change her post secondary education path. If you don’t like what you are learning, and you want to do something else. DO IT.

As the old saying goes “Do what you love, love what you do.”

Happy Monday!

Xo Tiana

Leave a Reply

