Edmonton Adventures (Part.1)

I hope everyone had a happy Monday!

I’m back from an exciting weekend in Edmonton, Alberta and I’m exhausted. I was there to witness and celebrate my dads wedding (but more on that in part 2)!

While I was in Edmonton, I stayed at The Varscona Hotel on Whyte Ave. This was the first time I’d ever stayed in a hotel by myself and I LOVED IT! I use to live in Edmonton, so it was fun being in the city as a tourist rather than a resident.  I never spent much time on Whyte Ave when I lived there (crazy, I know). To be honest I don’t know what the hype is all about. It’s like Granville Street in Vancouver, but not as good. The hotel was great though!

I had the cutest room! I treated myself to a king size bed #NoRegrets It was incredibly comfortable and I would like this to be my bed at home! I also had this super comfy old-man chair!

img_5913 img_5915

The hotel room coffee was Starbucks, but the cups were a little small for my liking (Coffee helps me function).

img_5917

The bathroom was awesome and had the biggest mirror ever, and I loved how bright the bathroom was!! Perfect for doing my make-up. Plus this was a new thing: Instead of travel size shampoo and conditioner to use, they had regular size bottles! I loved being able to use as much as I wanted!! One thing I didn’t like was that their was no bathtub. I don’t know if it was just my suite, or if it was a hotel thing 😦 BUT the shower was VERY nice, 3 people could have fit into it.

img_5919 img_5920

As always I flew with West Jet because I never have a bad experience with them! The airport staff is always great, the flight attendants and pilots are always great, and the people you have to talk to on the phone sometimes are great! I booked my hotel and flights through Expedia. It was the first time I had ever used their service and I was not disappointed, and I got a great deal (I recommend getting the app if you use Expedia)!

I had to make my way from Edmonton International to my hotel and thankfully they have a ground service called Skyshuttle. It takes you from the airport to your hotel and vice versa, AND it was very reasonably priced!! $18.00 one way, no matter where your hotel is! However they do have a specific list of hotels they go to.

Like I mentioned, my hotel was on Whyte Ave and I had never spent much there when I lived in Edmonton. I didn’t really care for it. It was loud at any time of day/night, there wasn’t a large variety of food places (although I do recommend Julio’s) and it was crawling with U of A freshman.

But all-in-all it was a great time. I forgot how much I enjoyed Edmonton! Plus I got to see family I haven’t seen in a while, and spend a large amount of time with my brother and sister-in-law. And the fact that we were all there to celebrate our Pop’s wedding was fantastic.

Stay tuned for Part 2!

Xo Tiana

Leave a Reply

