Happy Birthday to Me :)

This doesn’t happen often. I’m not one of those people who likes getting older, but I’m excited to turn 26. As my birthday draws closer I’ve been taking a look back at my year of 25. I feel like I spent a lot of 25 as a chicken with its head cut off, but that’s probably what I needed. It was a year of transition and that transition is probably going to continue until I’m 30, but I feel like I’m finally on the right course.

25 was my quarter life crisis. The biggest, most notable thing to happen was that I quit my stable, well-paying job for my own health and well-being. And it was SO well worth it.

I might not be where I want to be career-wise, but I know what I want to do and I know I’m on the right path to get there. I’ve set goals for myself leading up to turning 30 and I think four years is an achievable timeline to do (most) these things.

  1. I want to pay off my student loans by the time I’m 30. I have it planned out to hopefully happen by the time I’m 28, or shortly after. This is top priority.
  2. I want to get my own car. I know to some people having a car in Vancouver seems kind of silly, but I think it’s going to be very beneficial. Also because you need one to work in the film industry (especially art department). Plus I’m from a small town and that’s what you do and this small-town girl wants her own transportation!
  3. Because hopefully I will be working in the film industry (in the next year) I hope to be able to afford living on my own 🙂
  4. ALSO for my 30th I want to get a dog! So leading up to that I want to save so I can afford it cause I know it’s not going to be cheap. That will have to come after my student loans are paid off.
  5. And finally I want to travel to Europe! For sure Ireland, that trip is already planned out and will hopefully happen September 2017, but while I’m over there I might as well see some other countries!!

25 was kind of a fog, so it makes me feel so much better about having a plan in action. I’m sure once I’m 30 i’ll start a new plan, but I’m not thinking about that quite yet.  Tomorrow is my 26th birthday, and I’m off to DISNEYLAND!!!!

Image result for little mermaid gif
Me in Disneyland

Talk to y’all on November 4th!!

Xo Tiana

Leave a Reply

