Big Star Sandwich Co.

Trying new things makes me nervous, especially when it comes to food. I like to stick to what I know, but a few days ago a friend took me to Big Star Sandwich out in New West.

One thing that really drew me in was the fact that they are a local company!

Big Star Sandwich Co. opened in March 2013. We are committed to bringing an amazing sandwich experience. How? Well, first we use the best quality ingredients possible. Our Turkey and Roast Beef are slow cooked in house ensuring both freshness and quality. We encourage you to come and see how amazing our sandwiches are!

-Big Star Sandwich Co.

They have 22 different sandwich options, and there were 2 that I was torn between: the #1 Turkey & Housemade Stuffing with Cranberry Sauce and Mayo and the #17 Beef Dip & Swiss with Creamy Horseradish and Demi-Glace Gravy.

Let me tell you one thing: I am a sucker for beef dip. If it’s on the menu, it’s in my mouth. Sadly, they were all out of the beef dip, so I opted for the Turkey & Housemade Stuffing sandwich.

 

Please excuse my shitty iPhone photos, they do not do the sandwich any justice. I got also an Iced Tea (that was bottled in BC) As far as I can tell they pride themselves on using local ingredients and products!

The Iced Tea, which came in a few different flavours, was fresh and delicious! The sandwich, oh sweet delicious sandwich, where do I begin? It was HEARTY!! Like I had used all of my leftover thanksgiving dinner and rammed it into the bread as full as I could make it. Hearty indeed! It had all my favourite leftovers: turkey, stuffing, and cranberry sauce!

I was originally going to get the larger size sandwich, I opted for the “small” 6-inch instead, and boy was I glad I did! It was so filling! With the add-on of a bag of Hickory Sticks, I was done for the evening.

I recommend adding some of those Hickory Sticks to one half of your sandwich. With the additional flavour and crunch, you can’t go wrong!

I also recommend GOING OUT AND GETTING A SANDWICH NOW! With 2 locations, one in New West and one in Burnaby, you have no excuse! Go try it! Try it for the delicious flavours and try it cause it is a great price!

Tell them Tiana sent you! Just kidding, they don’t know who I am… yet. But please try it, and tell me what you think!

Cheers!

Xo Tiana

Leave a Reply

